Meta is testing whether link-sharing belongs in its paid Meta One service, with some Facebook Pages allowed up to two link-bearing organic posts or comments a month without subscribing.
Sprout Social says the trial applies to Facebook Pages, not personal profiles or Groups. Unused allowances expire at the end of each calendar month; ads and links to Meta apps are excluded. Sprout says Facebook applies the restriction through its own tools and that it has seen no effect on posts published through Sprout.
Meta’s Sept. 15 announcement lists links in organic posts and Reels among the Advanced plan’s features. It gives starting prices of $49.99 a month for Advanced, $149 for Expert and $499 for Max, but does not specify a link quota for any tier. Meta says plan prices and availability can vary by region, app and account. Engadget reported that the plans it reviewed allowed eight monthly links on Advanced, 20 on Expert and unlimited links on Max.
Engadget reported that the library Page in Greenville, Texas, received a notice after reaching its monthly allowance. It also reported restrictions on nonprofit Pages East Side Pawject and California Freethought Day; the latter regained the ability to post links later that week, Engadget said. Meta said Pages for government and nonprofit entities were not meant to be affected. The company told Engadget that its systems identify nonprofit Pages through their listed category, which needs to say “nonprofit.”
The trial follows an earlier experiment Meta confirmed to TechCrunch in December 2025. That test covered Facebook Pages and profiles using professional mode; Meta said publishers were excluded and comment links did not count. Sprout Social’s current guidance says comments can count toward the allowance.
David S. Evans, writing in the Review of Industrial Organization, describes attention platforms as using content to attract users’ time and showing ads during that time. That offers general context for the value of activity on a platform, but Meta has not said it is the reason for this test. Meta’s first-quarter 2026 report said 98.7% of U.S. Facebook Feed views did not include a link to an outside source. The percentage counts Feed views; it does not capture link clicks or visits those posts may have generated.
Meta has not disclosed how many Pages or which markets are included in the current trial, or when it will end.



