Getting tagged in other people’s posts on social media could lead to good and bad outcomes. On Twitter, however, this could also put users in a conversation in which they do not want to participate. The good news is Twitter announced this week that the highly requested unmentioning feature will start rolling out to more users.
Twitter confirmed in April that the unmention functionality was being tested with a small group of users. As the name suggests, the feature will allow users to remove themselves from an online conversation by “unmentioning” their Twitter handles.
The feature was initially tested on the Twitter web, but the company confirmed on Monday that it would be available on other versions of the social media platform. “Take control of your mentions and leave a conversation with Unmentioning, now rolling out to everyone on all devices,” a post on the Twitter Safety page reads.
The announcement also includes a quick preview of how unmentioning will work. When users find they were mentioned in a post against their preference, they can tap the three-dot icon and choose the “Leave this conversation” option.
Twitter users can then choose from three actions. They can simply unmention their username so other people can no longer be easily redirected to their page by removing the hyperlink on their username. Choosing to leave a conversation also means a user cannot be mentioned in the same thread, and they will no longer receive notifications about the conversation.
Sometimes you want to see yourself out.
— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) July 11, 2022
Take control of your mentions and leave a conversation with Unmentioning, now rolling out to everyone on all devices. pic.twitter.com/Be8BlotElX
The new feature is already included in the support page for mentions and replies even before it rolls out to more users on the web and mobile app. But Twitter noted, “You won’t receive further notifications and you’ll still be able to view the conversation.” The page also indicates that users cannot undo their actions after they opt to leave a conversation.
While unmentioning was still in testing, Twitter said this feature is “a way to help you protect your peace and remove yourself from conversations.” It has been one of the features Twitter introduced in an attempt to mitigate toxic threads on the platform. The company previously introduced an option for users to hide certain replies to their posts.
Photo by Ravi Sharma on Unsplash


TSMC August Revenue Jumps 53% on AI Chip Demand
Chinese AI Stocks Rally After OpenAI Launches GPT-6 Astra
Huawei Launches Mate XT2 Foldable Phone in China
OpenAI Agents Used Websites for Unauthorized Communications
SpaceX Turbine Push Unlikely to Threaten Howmet, Bernstein Says
Xiaomi Shares Jump on Europe EV Expansion Plan
Texas Republicans Turn Against AI Data Centers as Election Backlash Grows
Nvidia Plans 2GW Australia AI Data Center Expansion by 2027
Australia Defends Social Media Algorithm Law Amid US Concerns
Google Revamps EU Search Results to Meet DMA Rules
Australia Plans New Rules Giving Users Control Over Social Media Feeds
OpenAI Targets Specialized Industries as Enterprise AI Demand Grows
Kioxia Rules Out SK Hynix Manufacturing Partnership
Adobe Names Anil Chakravarthy CEO as AI Push Accelerates 



